Run, Pari. Run!

I have started running again! This girl WILL run and complete a half marathon! Granted I was doing so well in April and May and have fallen back a bit, but I will be back! By Friday I should be back to my 4 mile run and then next week get to 6. I want to fit in a long run at some point this weekend. Not sure when that will happen.

For those of you that do not like to run and have thought “it would be nice to run”, I’m telling you, it is possible to be a “runner”. The hardest part about running…is just doing it. Getting up and starting down the block out of your place. You are in your room, your heater is on, you’re in your bed. Why would you want to get out? BECAUSE! It’s actually really nice when you get a good pace going. The only time it sucks, in all honesty, is up a damn hill. That’s when I promise myself I will get to walk if I make it up the hill.

While in Yosemite, I hit my foot against the grill (which hilarious enough, Achyutha did the last time we went camping) and I think I hit a vein and it hurts to put shoes on. So running has been a bit difficult, but it doesn’t hurt to walk or run, just when anything touches it, i.e. my damn shoes. It’s a bit swollen and bruised 😦

Don’t fret folks, I am a champ, I will get through this. I will try my hardest not to be dramatic about it! Okay, on to my good moments! (PS – I am working on my Yosemite post, that will hopefully go up by Friday!)

Today:

1. Getting my Farm Fresh to You box and eating an orange and getting excited over squash! I wasn’t sure if I wanted the box but I decided to go with it. I was determined to be good about using the vegetables, after all, I am trying to be a locavore!

2. Running – I am not at my usual pace or distance, but I am getting there, I feel it coming back! It was really nice and I have a new hill to conquer, running around George Washington High School in the outer richmond, those hills are a…well you know what they are!

3. Cooking at home! I have been SO SO SO good about cooking food and bringing a lunch! Tonight I used the squash and tomato from the FFTY box and made some Quinoa kichadi (unfortunately my grains are not from a 100-150 mile radius of me) and have some for leftovers!

Well folks, I am off to bed! Gnite! Oh, I would love to hear your good moments!

4 responses to “Run, Pari. Run!

Leave a comment